a letter to my friend

Dear Friend,

I recently excused myself to the restroom in an educational facility on a college campus.  You wrote a message on the bathroom wall for me that read:
                                                                                “I hate how hard it is to love myself.”

I wanted to thank you for your words.  What your words stirred within me is the remembrance of feeling like I am not enough but not the experience.  You see, what I’m finding to be true for me these days is the statement: “how hard it is to NOT love myself” or “I love how easy it is to love my self.” 

The seeming gulf between these statements is only bridgeable, for me, by first getting a glimpse of and then maintaining my steady and unswerving focus on the self of which we speak. 

When I remember the self of which we speak is One, I am fearless.

When I remember the self of which we speak is always present, I am supported.

When I remember the self of which we speak asks nothing of me, I am at peace.

When I remember the self of which we speak knows no sense of limitation, I am free.

When I remember the self of which we speak holds no grudges, I am boundless.

When I remember I have chosen to disregard my self, I am absolution. 

I AM when I know that I have choice.

I AM when I know the whole is me whether I like it or not, judge it or not, and concurrently,

I AM when I know  I am no person, place or thing.

I AM when I rely on my heart’s voice to guide me fearlessly.

I am you, my friend, and I am me.  We are the one self of which we speak and whether we have an easy or hard time is our choice in the moment.  We are both that self.  We are both free to be.  We are the I AM.

Leave a Reply

